Goals and Resolutions

I am very cautious about making resolutions, so I dont resolve to make changes in my life in the same way I did when I was younger. However I do have goals. This year we both need to lose some weight, since we are both just a little heavier than is ideal after enjoying all the French butter and pastries in September! Another goal for me is to eat less, which I find difficult because I have a husband who loves to cook, and piles my plate high with his delicious and healthy meals. He plies me with red wine, which I love, so less wine is another goal!! We are starting our the month with a seven day juice program. Not my usual one but something new that includes making the juices into smoothies whizzed up with avocado, spirulina and wheat grass, or banana and yoghurt. So we are following all the recipes and enjoying new juices, treading a gentle path to less weight and an ever healthier life.

My favourite juices are not too sweet, the last one I made was delicious. Fennel, beet greens, celery, cucumber, apples, poured over icecubes, looks and tastes great! Earlier I made a smoothie with plum, blueberries, pineapple juice and a few heaped tablespoons of sheep’s milk yoghurt. A far cry from carrot, beetroot, celery and ginger which was my old standby. Here’s to a juicy you in the New Year!

This post fits with http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/weekly-photo-challenge-resolved/ and with Jakes challenge http://jakesprinters.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/sunday-post-goals/

11 thoughts on “Goals and Resolutions

  1. Your green smoothie must be incredibly good for you – I’d have to stick to the fruit one though! I’m also trying to cut back on the food intake, I need to lose weight but healthily and I’ve lost three pounds in the first week – I know it will be very slow from now on.

    • that is wonderful gilly …. i am at day 6 of the juicing and although S has lost 3kg i have hardly changed yet … whereas on my usual juice fast i drop quite quickly … however i have faith it will work for me because i feel very well, no aching joints at all 🙂

      • Anything that helps aching joints has to be good! I’m not in a rush, I need to maintain change instead of getting bored after a week and eating biscuits and cakes!

      • i have the same problem, but now we have done 7 days of juice we will stay true to the eating rules for another 14 days, by then i probably wont even wat a glass of wine!

  2. Pingback: Still Traveling | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

    • after a week of very luxurious juices we are both down a few kilograms and feeling full of energy, now we are having salads, steamed vegies and fish as well…. good luck to you too 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sunday Post: Goals…and the Writer’s Desk Competition « Positive Parental Participation

Leave a Reply

