Story Challenge: H is for Henna

French Dolly looks as though she has been using henna in her hair, but the baby she is nursing is still quite bald.

Henna is a commonly used reddish brown dye, made from the leaves of the henna plant. It has been used for thousands of years to dye fabric, as a hair colouring, and for body art.

Our host-mother in Nepal applying henna to my head!

Personally I used henna for years as a hair colouring, since it added lustrous lights to my dark hair, and seemed to improve the texture and quality of the hair. Now that I have some white hair I stay away from henna as the result is rather too startling!

Traditional hand decoration in Rajasthan

During a trip to Rajasthan I had my hand painted with traditional patterns using henna. This was lovely fun! For more H stories and photos pop over to Frizz’s site ….

 

 

4 thoughts on “Story Challenge: H is for Henna

Leave a Reply

